food · Home · love · self · Uncategorized

The Baking momma Recipe #3 The Easiest and the Yummiest Chocolate Cake Ever !

Right after our short stint in the Philippines, I got very very sick.

After the plane from Manila to Dubai I felt like as if I had been hit by a 10-wheeler. Blame the poor diet and lack of sleep and chasing a toddler every land we set foot on.

My little Sasha took time to adjust to Dubai time. He sleeps Ph time which is 4 hours advance to Dubai. By 4pm he’s already desperately asking for bed. Initially we thought he just wanted his nap. But after two hours of yelling, shaking him up in his bed we gave up and close the lights. Turns out, it’s his bed time already. Gosh.

And yeah, the next day he woke up at 4 am. And I had barely slept.

I got mouth ulcers and my joints were aching I couldn’t barely walk. My head weighed like a hundred Ton. I had fever every 4 hours. Our house was 40degrees hot because of the weather and all of us were sweating like pigs. But turning on the AC was like ice being rubbed in my skin.

Thank God for husbands. He took care of me even though I was the most annoying patient ever. The doctors of NMC gave me so many medicines as if I want to build my own pharmacy at home. I just took Panadol and antibiotics for 5 days, had chicken soup and ate lots of greens. I can’t eat any citrus fruit as my mouth ulcers sting like I have people there doing barbecue in my mouth. So painful!

After 4 agonizing days in bed. Weak and useless, I thank God for my renewed strength. Praise God for healing and for people who prayed for me.

Saturday is our church day. I was so happy and delighted that I promised some people that I will bake cake and bring it over.

Of course the ultimate indulgence is Chocolate Cake.

This recipe is the easiest and the yummiest of them all. You don’t need a mixer. Just your spatula and your oven. In an hour your cake is ready.

My Ultimate Chocolate Cake

cake

Ingredients:

2 cups of sugar ( you can reduce to 1.5 cup if you don’t like too sweet)

1 3/4 cups flour

3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1 1/2 tsp baking soda

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

3/4 tsp salt

2 large eggs room temp

1 cup Brewed coffee  ( room temp)  ( if you don’t like the bitter taste or the caffeine you can just substitute with water, but having coffee balances out the sweetness)

1 cup milk

1/2 cup sunflower oil / vegetable oil

1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

For Chocolate Ganache ( filling frosting the cake)

250 grams Cadbury Chocolate

3/4 cup Heavy Cream

4 tbsp milk

Procedure:

  1. Preheat oven to 175 degrees.
  2. Mix dry and wet ingredients with a spatula until well combined.
  3. Place baking paper in your 8X 1/2 ” baking tin and butter all sides
  4. Pour in the cake batter  and tap to release bubbles.
  5. Bake for 20 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.
  6. Prepare Chocolate Ganache.
  7. Just put the heavy cream in a sauce pan over medium heat until it boils.
  8. Cut your chocolate into small cubes and pour the hot heavy cream and let it sit for 10 minutes.
  9. Mix and stir thoroughly while adding milk one tablespoon at a time. You can add more chocolate or cream depending how thick you want your filling to be. With the milk, you can add or reduce depends how thick or runny you want it to be.
  10. Let cool.
  11. Once your cake is ready and cool off completely. Slice into two by using a knife or a cake slicer . I have one from Ikea. Very very efficient.
  12. Spread generously your chocolate ganache.
  13. Pour the remaining on top of the cake and spread evenly by using your spatula.
  14. I add a few chocolate chips on the sides and burn a few tiny marshmallows for design. I don’t want chocolate frosting because it’s too heavy and I don’t feel like piping a cake after 5 days in agony.
  15. Let it sit in the fridge for at least an hour before serving.
  16. Enjoy!

This one is by far the easiest and absolute no-fail recipe. Even after 4 days in the fridge the cake is still so moist and rich and definitely delightful. Yes, it’s high in sugar. And it’s chocalately at it’s best. Just have a slice and share the rest!

Happy baking!

 

Leave a Reply

