food · Home · love · self · Uncategorized

Mango Cake Recipe

 

mango1

I am not really the type to share recipes through a blog. Well  mostly because I really don’t consider myself a pro with regards to cooking and all that. I rise from being a clueless homemaker to a domesticated wife who is now beaming with passion with anything food-related just because my role asks for it. As I always tell my husband, anyone can adapt to their environment and circumstances. For better or for worse.

Although I really knew way back those grade school years that I wanted to bake.

My mom was a frustrated baker herself. So many unused baking tins and molds collecting dusts in the cupboards,  with tools and recipe books all for the idea that maybe one day she can bake. To cut the long story short, after a few attempts to perfect a decent chiffon cake, our oven never did again see the light of day. I guess for a working mom with three kids and a hyper active social life, that dream to bake just fizzled in the burner.

And that unfortunate day didn’t really settle in my forgotten memories -inbox. Because, flour, butter, eggs and sugar follow me everywhere I go calling my name. “Mix us up, create something pretty”.

Now with a toddler and a hubby so meticulous with food, I rise up. Like a dough sitting for a long time, I gathered enough courage and turned on the oven.

For the Mango Cake Recipe You will Need:

8 egg yolks

80 grams of sugar

1/2 cup milk

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 tsp salt

1 1/2 cups cake flour

For the Meringue:

8 egg whites

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 tsp cream of tartar

For the Mango Jam:

2 mangoes (ripe)

1 1/2 tsp cornstarch

3 tbsp sugar ( you can add more , or you can lessen it according to your taste)

For the Swiss Meringue:

4 egg whites ( room temperature)

2 cups sugar

400 grams butter unsalted

Directions:

  1. First make the Mango Jam by cutting your mangoes in small chunks. Put in a small pot together with the sugar and cornstarch. Let it cook for about 3-4 minutes stirring constantly until it becomes syrup-y. Set aside.
  2. For the chiffon cake. Whisk egg yolks and sugar until it becomes pale yellow. I stirred mine for about 10-15 minutes. I cannot feel my hands afterwards. You can use your hand mixer or stand mixer if you don’t want to do it by balloon whisk. Then once you achieved the right color, add the vanilla extract, then the oil and the milk. Continue stirring. Then in a separate bowl mix together flour and salt. Then put the dry and wet ingredients together until well incorporated. Do not over mix.
  3. Then for the meringue, put your egg whites and your cream of tartar in your stand mixer and set on medium speed. Once it’s frothy, add your sugar gradually. Set on high speed and until stiff peaks form is achieved.
  4. Then in 3 batches scoop your meringue and fold it together with the egg yolk batter you did earlier. Be careful when folding. You don’t want to lose the air in the meringue.
  5. Then prepare your baking tins. Grease or put parchment paper in the bottom and in the sides. I use 2- 8″ baking tins for these. In a pre-heated oven, bake them at 165 degree Celcius for 40-45 minutes until toothpick inserted comes out clean.
  6. Once your cake is ready. Let it cool. Put it upside down in your cooling tray.
  7. Prepare your swiss buttercream. In a small cooking pot put boiling water in a low fire  and put a glass or an aluminum bowl with your eggwhites and sugar stirring it constantly until the sugar is dissolved. Mine took 3-4 minutes. Then transfer it to your stand mixer and on a medium speed let it whisk for about 5 minutes or until the bowl is no longer hot. Then gradually add your butter cut into cubes until well incorporated. If your butter is too hard it will not mix quickly. If your butter is too soft your buttercream will not stand. Make sure that you took your buter out from the fridge a little bit early before you start making this. If your kitchen is too hot and the buttercream becomes runny, just pop it in the fridge and leave it there for a few minutes or an hour. I did mine like twice because our kitchen is too hot and my butter was standing way too long outside. Then mix your mango jam together with your swiss meringue. If your mango is already sweet you can leave some for later  ( decorating) or if not use it all. It all depends on your taste. I used all. You know when you get the right consistency of the Mango swiss buttercream by trying to pipe it with your piping bag. If they become runny, just pop it in the fridge for sometime.
  8. Assemble the cake. First add first later of the cake. Spread buttercream generously. Then the next . Cover your cake with buttercream. You will have more than enough buttercream to decorate the entire cake. If you are not a heavy fan of buttercream because I think sometimes it can be over-powering, just cover it as thinlyas possible. I added some crushed walnuts on top of the cake since we have so many packs of walnuts at home. This is optional. I always want my cake with a little bit of texture. Then cut one mango into chunks and put it on top of your cake for decoration. You can make it like a jam. But I want mine to be fresh so I skipped cooking mine with sugar to make a syrup.
  9. Taddah. Simple. Easy. Yummy. Forget about your diet if you make this. Share the guilt with your family and friends. ( post info at my instagram)
Leave a Reply

